Tuesday Two.Oh! Tools for Telling Stories.

Tuesday Two.Oh! is not meant as an endorsement, but as an exploration of the tools that are out there. Click at your own risk. šŸ™‚

Today on Tuesday Two.Oh! we’ll take a look at collaborative story telling on the web. I really enjoyed this tool- I recently was asked to be a Godmother to a friends’ first child. Unfortunately, these loved people live in Hawaii, and as I find myself in Oklahoma it will be difficult to be a close part of my little God Daughter’s early years. And likewise, my husband lives a long way from his niece in Maine, and this could be a good tool to encourage communication between family members. Let’s take a look at Storybird.

Photobucket

Find them on Twitter. (http://twitter.com/Storybird)

About us: a peek inside Storybird on Storybird

One of the things I immediately enjoyed about Storybird was the simple and easy-to-understand clickable interface. The site is so incredibly visual that it’s easy and intuitive to click around the site and build a story.

First things first. Signing up for the site requires very little information. I created a username, entered a working email address and chose a password.

Photobucket

From there you can begin creating your story. However, you might want to spend some time browsing other stories that users of Storybird have already written. The thing to remember here is that you don’t have to make your story public. It can be a private story, and according to the site propaganda, you should be able to print these stories in the future. I imagine that the art copyright might be a problem, and it will be interesting to see how they solve that challenge.

Photobucket

Once you’ve gotten a feel for how the site works by looking at other Storybird’s, you can click on “create” to start your own. The first step it to select pre-loaded art that appeals to you (artists join the site and upload art for users to put in their Storybirds).

Photobucket

Having chosen your art, you can choose a theme if you choose to.

Photobucket

The art I chose for my first Storybird was created by Victoria Usova.

Photobucket

When an image strikes you, you can choose to use it in your Storybird. Once you have chosen a particular artist, you will have to choose pieces of her art for the rest of the story. It’s an interesting endeavor, as the options of pictures sort of drive your story.

The single problem that I encountered was that I never realized that I was supposed to create a title page/cover until after I was done with the story. It could be that I just missed the “C” icon at the bottom of the page, but when I went to publish my finished Storybird it said I couldn’t until I created a title page. It took me awhile to find the space to create it, but it’s there. When you make your own, try to click on the “C” at the bottom so you don’t run into the same speed bump.

Below is a preview of what it is like to create in Storybird.

Photobucket

When you have finished creating your Storybird, you’ll be prompted to add your metadata.

Photobucket

Then you will have your finished Storybird.

Photobucket

In closing, I thought this site was adorable. For those with creative kids, or family strewn about the country, this could be a fun and interactive way to stay involved as well as to inspire creativity. I liked the site, and thought that it was fun and easy to use.

As always, leave thoughts and comments if you are inspired to do so.

Photobucket

3 Comments

Filed under 2.0, two.oh!, web site

3 responses to “Tuesday Two.Oh! Tools for Telling Stories.

  1. what a cool site! great for inspiring creativity and sharing stories…awesome artwork available too.

  2. Hi Emily,

    Thanks for the kind words and the review. It’s much appreciated.

    Thought I’d clarify the artwork copyright question: all artwork is licensed to the service for use in your Storybirds. It’s still “owned” by the artists, but just as they license their works to publishers or studios, they grant us use for online and offline usage.

    If you make a Storybird with the participating artist shops, you’ll be fine to print them. So enjoy.

    Cheers and thanks.

    m.

    Mark Ury
    Cofounder, Storybird

    • brownez

      Copyright is always on my mind- we deal with it so much in libraries.. you would be surprised!

      Thank you so much for your comment and clarification.

      Great site!

      E.

Leave a Reply

